Daily Archives: 2015/10/14

Writing 201: Poetry, Day seven – Neighborhood


Well I skipped the day seven to make sure my Ballad will be long enough and I also realized that I need a little more time for it. I am glad I could finish it because Ben is bombing us already with a new task for the Day nine :-). So here we go:

These mornings are so different,
everything is so fresh and alive.
The barking dogs and bleating goats,
children heading to school, baby’s cry.

These mornings are so bright and green,
except some rainy days
when clouds are covering the sky
and the sun is hiding its face.

These mornings, oh these mornings here
since early the loud reggae sounds,
the rhythm is viral and calm
making my body and mind to wine.

A Rasta man is smoking weed,
the scent is strong and wild,
he greets people by bowing his head
placing his hand on his heart.

The taxi man is driving fast – “Wah gwan?” –
pressing roughly the horn while he speeds.
An old woman is selling veggie and fruit
she needs some money, something to eat.

Mackerel and rice, dumplings and butter,
porridge, patty and bulla,
ackee and fish.

What a simple but delicious food,
no complaints, no expecting more on the dish.

These mornings I am waking beside my king,
the sun is already warm and high.
The loud reggae sounds from the neighborhood,
thank God I can be here, in the Caribbean, truly living my life.

image

Categories: Jamaica, Poems, Writing 201 | Tags: , , , , , | 3 Comments

Writing 201: Poetry, Day eight – Flavor


This was really funny and I enjoyed it @benhuberman , thanks a lot! So here is my sad Elegy:

It is gone.
Only the bitterness is left here.
Oh, come back mango season,
refresh my throat since I don’t like beer.

Oh, don’t let me wait too long.
You were so juicy,  sweet and healthy,
without you I don’t feel strong enough,
with you I felt so good and wealthy.

Oh mango, my source of vitamins
come back and give me the strength,
let me peel your silky skin,
let me smell your beautiful scent.

It is gone.
You were my morning’s joy.
I am sad… the mango season is done.
You were my sugar,  my cake, my gold.

image

Categories: Jamaica, Poems, Writing 201 | Tags: , , , , , | 14 Comments

Romans 8:18


image

http://bible.com/111/rom.8.18.NIV

Categories: God, Faith, Bible | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Psalm 74:26


image

http://bible.com/111/psa.73.26.NIV

Categories: God, Faith, Bible | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Print and Packaging Solutions

PRINTED CARRIER BAGS, CUSTOM BOXES & LUXURY PACKAGING

World Of Words

The flowers of the fiction plant rooted in my brain, the voice of the inexpressible feelings hidden in my heart and the eruption of the theories burning in my mind– I made a ball out of the three, threw it high into the sky and it landed right at my blog.

ragtagcommunity.wordpress.com/

To participate in the Ragtag Daily Prompt, create a Pingback to your post, or copy and paste the link to your post into the comments. And while you’re there, why not check out some of the other posts too!

Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Putting My Feet in the Dirt

Thoughts and Perspectives From the Mind of a Common Girl

adal2com선릉건마

선릉유흥의 지존 adal2.com에서는 모든 밤문화의 궁금증을 해결해 드리고 있으며, 전국 최다 제휴 업소 정보와 실사 후기 및 풍성한 볼거리를 제공하고 있습니다.

EcoSeasons

Photography is the Art of Exposing your Soul

My world inside a bubble

...and I saw something I would never see with a naked eye.

SoraNews24 -Japan News-

Bringing you yesterday's news from Japan and Asia, today.

Adventure 69°North

Life in Arctic Norway

kirilson photography

the stories behind the pictures, and vice versa

paintdigi

THE ARTIST ALOZADE A. IS LOOKING FOR ALL BEAUTY IMAGES IN THE WORLD, FOR YOUR TRIP AND FOR YOUR PLEASURE. AS WELL AS ARTISTIC WORKS, DESIGNS AND HIS IDEAS ON ART

Musin' With Susan

Life Through My Lens

Words-to-World

Transplanting words from my daily pages to world

ronovanwrites

Author, Poet, Blogger, Father, Reader And More

Insanity at its best!

Yousuf Bawany's Blog

Jamaica in a thousand words

Shooting Jamaica From All Angles

JoseRaSan66

Cuando Lo Pequeño Se Hace Visible...